The Emir Abd El Kader  

 

Abd el-Kader ben Muhieddine was born in Algeria in 1808. Raised in a family of scholars in the Mascara region, he very quickly developed an insatiable curiosity and great intellectual abilities. As a young man, he got involved in the resistance to French colonization. He created a permanent military force to oppose French troops. Forced to surrender to General Lamoricière in 1847, he promised not to raise arms against France again. The political instability that France was experiencing at the time compromised its situation. He was then incarcerated at the Château d’Amboise the following year. He was released four years later by Louis-Napoléon Bonaparte (1809/1852-1870/1873) then Prince-President, who came in person to keep the word given by the French authorities in 1847. The Emir then embarked for Turkey then Syria where he devoted most of his last years to meditation and teaching. Until his last breath, he consistently defended the universal values ​​of tolerance and humanism. He died in Damascus in 1883.

 

Emir Abd El Kader and the royal castle of Amboise

 

Having laid down his arms on December 24, 1847, Emir Abd El Kader was transferred to Toulon, then to the fortress of Pau. In November 1848, the illustrious prisoner was then placed under house arrest at the royal castle of Amboise with his family and his entourage of around eighty people. The emir spent four years at the castle, before being personally released by Louis-Napoléon Bonaparte on October 16, 1852. After particularly difficult first years, marked by the death of many of his loved ones (victims of climate and illness), harsh living conditions and voluntary isolation, Emir Abd El Kader will gradually establish dialogue with this new environment. Over the years, a special bond was formed with the population of the town of Amboise, whom the emir regularly met during his outings. Upon his release, the inhabitants will mobilize to have a monument built in his homage, on the grounds of the castle. This is still visible today, at the Orient Garden.

 

The Oriental Garden

 

This garden was created in 2005 by the Algerian artist Rachi Koraïchi. It is a garden-cemetery in memory of the 25 people from the emir’s retinue who died during their captivity in Amboise. A place of meditation, it has 25 steles in Aleppo stone, marked with surahs from the Koran and topped with a bronze sign, each bearing the name of a deceased person. Seven cypresses, like seven guardians, whose link between earth and sky. A large diagonal line of rosemary trees, facing southeast, indicates the direction of Mecca.

 

 

Learn more :

Podcasts “Emir Abd El Kader, captive prince of Amboise”, by Ahmed Bouyerdene

 

Reopening of the Saint-Hubert chapel to the public on June 16th, 2024
18Days 08Hours 05Minutes 26Secondes

 

After nearly three years of work, the Saint-Hubert chapel which houses the tomb of Leonardo da Vinci will once again be fully revealed to visitors from June 16th

 

EXCEPTIONAL CLOSURE OF THE CHÂTEAU ON JUNE 15TH FROM 1 P.M.

 

Home

×

Nom : Abd el-Kader ben Muhieddine

Date de naissance : 6 septembre 1808, El Guettana, Régence d’Alger

Date de mort : 26 mai 1883, Damas, Vilayet de Syrie

 

L’émir Abd El Kader  

 

Abd el-Kader ben Muhieddine est né en Algérie en 1808. Élevé dans une famille de lettrés de la région de Mascara, il développe très vite une insatiable curiosité et de grandes capacités intellectuelles. Jeune homme, il s’implique dans la résistance à la colonisation française. Il crée une force militaire permanente pour s’opposer aux troupes françaises. Contraint à se rendre au général Lamoricière en 1847, il fait la promesse de ne plus lever les armes contre la France. L’instabilité politique que connaît alors la France compromet sa situation. Il est alors incarcéré au Château d’Amboise l’année suivante. Il est libéré quatre ans plus tard par Louis-Napoléon Bonaparte (1809/1852-1870/1873) alors Prince-Président, venu en personne tenir la parole donnée par les autorités françaises en 1847. L’Émir s’embarque alors pour la Turquie puis Syrie où il consacre l’essentiel de ses dernières années à la méditation et l’enseignement. Jusqu’à son dernier souffle, il défend avec constance les valeurs universelles de tolérance et d’humanisme. Il meurt à Damas en 1883.

 

L’émir Abd El Kader et le château royal d’Amboise  

 

Ayant déposé les armes le 24 décembre 1847, l’émir Abd El Kader est transféré à Toulon, puis à la forteresse de Pau. En novembre 1848, l’illustre prisonnier est ensuite assigné à résidence au château royal d’Amboise avec sa famille et sa suite composée d’environ quatre-vingt personnes.  L’émir passera quatre années au château, avant d’être personnellement libéré par Louis-Napoléon Bonaparte le 16 octobre 1852. Après des premières années particulièrement difficiles, marquées par le décès de nombre de ses proches (victimes du climat et de maladies), des conditions de vie rudes et un isolement volontaire, l’émir Abd El Kader va progressivement établir le dialogue avec ce nouvel environnement. Au fil des années, un lien particulier va notamment se nouer avec la population de la ville d’Amboise, que l’émir côtoie régulièrement lors de ses sorties. A sa libération, les habitants se mobiliseront pour faire édifier un monument à son hommage, sur le domaine du château. Celui-ci est toujours visible de nos jours, au niveau du jardin d’Orient.

 

Le jardin d’Orient

 

Ce jardin a été crée en 2005 par l’artiste algérien Rachi Koraïchi. Il s’agit d’un jardin-cimetière à la mémoire des 25 personnes de la suite de l’émir décédées durant leur captivité à Amboise. Lieu de méditation, il comporte 25 stèles en pierre d’Alep, marquées de sourates du Coran et surmontées d’une enseigne en bronze portant chacune le nom d’un défunt. Sept cyprès, comme sept gardiens, dont le lien entre la terre et le ciel. Une grande diagonale de romarins, orientée sud-est, indique la direction de La Mecque.

 

 

Pour en savoir plus :

Podcasts « L’émir Abd El Kader, prince captif d’Amboise », par Ahmed Bouyerdene  

 

Réouverture de la chapelle Saint-Hubert au public le 16 juin 2024 
18Jours 07Heures 04Minutes 15Secondes

 

Après près de trois années de travaux, la chapelle Saint-Hubert qui abrite la tombe de Léonard de Vinci se dévoilera à nouveau pleinement aux visiteurs dès le 16 juin!

 

FERMETURE EXCEPTIONNELLE DU CHÂTEAU LE 15 JUIN À PARTIR DE 13H

Home

×