The two cavalry towers are one of the Royal Château of Amboise’s emblematic attributes.

These almost identical towers were built, between 1495 and 1498, on the instigation of King Charles VIII, as part of the major works to transform the Royal Château of Amboise undertaken during his reign. It also seems that the construction of a third tower was planned but eventually abandoned. You can see the start of its base at the end of the north rampart. 

An architectural singularity

The Minimes and Heurtault towers are unique examples of cavalry towers in France. They house two gently sloping spiral ramps between the outside walls and a hollow central core. Although the central core of the Heurtault tower is no longer accessible, visitors can still discover the one in the Minimes tower during the “Corridors of History” guided tours. The view is truly spectacular. 

Easier access to the château 

The two cavalry towers facilitated access to the château from the town below and the banks of the Loire. Until then, the only access had been the opening in the Medieval ramparts. To enter the château this way required a detour of several kilometres to arrive from the rear onto the rocky outcrop. It was certainly an excellent means of defence, but it was far less practical for daily comings and goings. The fact that the kingdom was at peace (the Hundred Years’ War was then over) made it possible to construct the towers. Any defensive contingencies could be slightly reduced in favour of beautiful architecture and an attractive appearance.  

A prestigious redevelopment

The other reason for the towers’ construction was the king’s desire to give his château prestige. With their imposing character and their architecture, which was novel for the time, the towers constituted two dignified entrances for guests and visitors. It is also worth noting that the use of these two towers remained solely reserved for high-ranking dignitaries. Arriving on horseback so close to the château was a great honour. The cavalry towers thus contributed to the fascination the royal château exercised over the kingdom’s subjects.

As such, when François Ier received Charles V in 1539, the emperor naturally arrived in the château through the Heurtault tower, in the king’s company. There was a close brush with disaster that day when the two monarchs entered the Heurtault tower, which was richly decorated with tapestries and flaming torches. One of the tapestries caught fire as the convoy passed! The two sovereigns narrowly escaped the blaze. 

A detention centre

When the court of France left for the Île-de-France in the second half of the 15th century, the Château of Amboise experienced a period of relative abandon. The calvary towers were transformed into detention centres. During periods of war or public disgrace, prisoners were held within their walls. You can still find traces of their incarceration in the myriad graffiti marking the walls. The oldest date from the end of the 15th century, others from the Second World War.

Work in progress in the Saint Hubert chapel

Since january 2022, access to the interior of the chapel is suspended from time to time.

During these times, HistoPad tablets will allow you to discover and explore the building using augmented reality technology.

These tablets, included in the entrance ticket to the castle, are given to you on your arrival.

Home

×

Les deux tours-cavalières constituent l’un des attributs emblématiques du château royal d’Amboise.

Ces deux tours quasi jumelles sont édifiées, entre 1495 et 1498, à l’initiative du roi Charles VIII, dans le cadre des grands travaux de transformation du château royal d’Amboise menés durant son règne. Il semblerait d’ailleurs que la construction d’une troisième tour ait été prévue mais finalement abandonnée : on trouve l’amorce de sa base à l’extrémité du rempart nord.

Une singularité architecturale

Les tours des Minimes et Heurtault sont des modèles uniques en France de tours à rampe cavalière. Elles sont occupées par deux rampes hélicoïdales en pente douce, prises entre les murs extérieurs et un moyeux central creux. Si le moyeu central de la Tour Heurtault n’est plus accessible, les visiteurs peuvent encore découvrir celui de la Tour des Minimes à l’occasion des visites guidées « Les Coulisses de l’Histoire ». La vue est vraiment spectaculaire.

Un accès facilité au château 

Les deux tours-cavalières facilitent l’accès au château depuis la villebasse et les berges de la Loire. Jusqu’alors, l’unique accès était celui ouvert dans le rempart médiéval. Entrer au château par cette entrée imposait de faire un détour de plusieurs kilomètres pour arriver par l’arrière de l’éperon rocheux. C’était certes très commode pour défendre la place, mais beaucoup moins pour la circulation du quotidien. Le fait que le royaume soit pacifié (la guerre de Cent ans est alors terminée) permet la construction des tours. Les contingences défensives sont un peu atténuées au profit d’une architecture du beau et de l’agrément.

Un aménagement de prestige

L’autre raison de l’édification des tours réside dans la volonté du roi de donner du prestige à son château. Avec leur caractère imposant et leur architecture novatrice pour l’époque, elles constituent deux entrées pleines de solennité pour les hôtes et les visiteurs des lieux. Il convient d’ailleurs de noter que l’usage de ces deux tours demeure réservé aux seuls dignitaires de hauts-rangs. Accéder à cheval au plus près des logis représentait un très grand honneur. Les tours cavalières contribuaient ainsi à la fascination que le château royal exerçait sur les sujets du royaume.

 

C’est ainsi que bien lors de la réception de Charles Quint par François Ier, en 1539, c’est naturellement par la Tour Heurtault que l’empereur accède au château en compagnie du roi. On frôlera d’ailleurs la catastrophe ce jour-là : les deux monarques s’engagent dans la Tour Heurtault richement décorée de tapisseries et de torches. L’une des tentures s’enflamme au passage du convoi, déclenchant un début d’incendie ! Les deux souverains échappèrent de justesse au sinistre.

Un lieu de rétention 

Après le départ de la Cour de France pour l’Île de France dans la seconde moitié du 15ème siècle, le château d’Amboise connaît une période de relatif abandon. Les tours-cavalières sont transformées en lieu de rétention. Au fil des périodes de guerre et des disgrâces, des prisonniers sont enfermés dans leurs murs. On trouve aujourd’hui trace de leur passage à travers les très nombreux graffitis historiques qui marquent les murs. Les plus anciens datent de la fin du 15ème siècle, d’autres de la seconde guerre mondiale.

 

Chantier de la chapelle saint Hubert

Depuis le 3 janvier 2022, l’accès à l’intérieur de la chapelle et à la tombe de Léonard de Vinci est suspendu pour une durée indéterminée.

Durant cette période, les tablettes HistoPad vous permettront de découvrir et d’explorer l’édifice grâce à la technologie de la réalité augmentée.

Ces tablettes, comprises dans le billet d’entrée au château, vous sont remises à votre arrivée.

Accueil

×