It was a scandal that shook the kingdom of France and was one of the premises for the fateful Wars of Religion (1562-1598).

During the night of 17th to 18th October 1534, anti-Catholic pamphlets were posted all over the kingdom, even on King François Ier’s bedchamber door at the Royal Château of Amboise. 

These documents, offensive and seditious, were an affront to the monarch’s authority and led to his radicalisation against Reformist partisans, towards whom he had until then been relatively tolerant. 

The author of these texts was identified as Antoine Marcourt, a Neuchâtel pastor originally from Picardy. An example of these placards is preserved at the Musée de l’Imprimerie et de la Communication Graphique (Museum of Printing and Graphic Communications) in Lyons.  

François Ier raged against what he considered a crime of lèse-majesté and ordered, as a reprisal, the arrest and execution of those considered to have organised the operation. The printer Antoine Augereau figured, notably, among the condemned. At this time, numerous Protestants, such as Jean Calvin, chose exile.    

A few years later, the Wars of Religion tore up the kingdom and, more widely, Western Europe.

The Placards 

The precursor of our posters, a placard is a written or printed notice posted publicly. They could be official, emanating from the authorities to inform the population of the sovereign’s decisions or to announce, for example, forthcoming celebrations. Very quickly, they also became a means to share unlawful ideas, insults and accusations anonymously.  

Work in progress in the Saint Hubert chapel

Since january 2022, access to the interior of the chapel is suspended from time to time.

During these times, HistoPad tablets will allow you to discover and explore the building using augmented reality technology.

These tablets, included in the entrance ticket to the castle, are given to you on your arrival.

Home

×

C’est une affaire qui secoua le royaume de France, et qui fut l’un des prémices aux funestes guerres de religion (1562-1598).

Durant la nuit du 17 au 18 octobre 1534, des pamphlets anti catholiques furent placardés à travers tout le royaume, jusque sur la porte de la chambre du roi François Ier, au château royal d’Amboise.

Ces écrits, injurieux et séditieux, constituaient un affront à l’autorité du monarque et conduisirent à sa radicalisation à l’encontre des partisans de la Réforme, vis-à-vis desquels il avait jusqu’alors relativement toléré.

L’auteur de ces textes fut identifié comme Antoine Marcourt, un pasteur de Neuchâtel d’origine picarde. Un exemplaire de ces placards est conservé au Musée de l’imprimerie et de la communication graphique à Lyon.

François Ier s’emporta contre ce qu’il considéra comme un crime de lèse-majesté et ordonna, en représailles, l’arrestation et l’exécution de ceux qui furent considérés comme les organisateurs de l’opération. L’imprimeur Antoine Augereau figure, notamment, parmi les condamnés. C’est à cette période que de nombreux protestants choisissent l’exil, à l’image de Jean Calvin.

Quelques années plus tard, les guerres de religion déchirèrent le royaume et plus largement l’Europe occidentale.

Les placards

Ancêtre de nos affiches, un placard est un avis écrit ou imprimé qu’on affiche publiquement. Ils peuvent être officiels, émanant du pouvoir pour informer la population des décisions du souverain ou annoncer, par exemple, des festivités à venir. Très tôt, il est aussi détourné pour partager, de manière anonyme, des idées hors-la-loi, des injures ou des accusations.

Réouverture de la chapelle Saint-Hubert au public le 16 juin 2024 
57Jours 19Heures 08Minutes 00Secondes

 

Après près de trois années de travaux, la chapelle Saint-Hubert qui abrite la tombe de Léonard de Vinci se dévoilera à nouveau pleinement aux visiteurs dès le 16 juin!

 

FERMETURE EXCEPTIONNELLE DU CHÂTEAU LE 15 JUIN À PARTIR DE 13H

Home

×